Weekend in San Francisco

A couple weeks ago, I took my very first trip to San Francisco to visit one of my closest friends from college (plus her fiancé and sweet pup). Another couple, my boyfriend, and I made the trip from Portland together. I’ve always wanted to visit San Francisco, and it did not disappoint!

The best part of the trip was really spending time together and catching up. The two other girls and I became best friends during our freshman year of college and then lived together for the following three years, so being reunited was amazing. I didn’t take many pictures this trip because we were so focused on enjoying each other’s company!

2016-11-04-17-47-09

Isn’t this back patio amazing for being in the middle of San Francisco?!

One day, we took the ferry out to Alcatraz Island and did the audio tour which was fascinating. The views of SF from the island were amazing!

2016-11-04-12-52-28

The highlight of the trip was the next day. My friend really wanted to take us on a bike ride across the Golden Gate Bridge and into Sausalito. I was super hesitant since I just learned to ride a bike in September (!), but I knew it was an opportunity I couldn’t pass up. It ended up being so much fun and incredibly scenic.

2016-11-05-12-34-37

We started cruising down by the water and checked out the Palace of Fine Arts which was insanely beautiful. The paths were nice and wide and I was gaining confidence on the bike. But once we actually got onto the bridge…things got crazy. Cars rushing towards me out of the right side of my eye, the steep drop to the bay out of the left side of my eye, seeing the churning water through the cracks below, and crazy cyclists speeding ahead. I definitely got yelled at by one cyclist for going too slow…

Somehow I survived and once we crossed into Sausalito, it became much calmer again. I’m pretty proud to say that the fourth time in my life I ever rode a bike was across the Golden Gate Bridge!

2016-11-05-13-22-10-hdr-22016-11-05-13-49-23

The rest of the weekend was filled with lots of food, drinks, laughs, walks, and Frenchie snuggles. I already can’t wait to go back!
2016-11-04-11-39-34

Leave a Reply

